Visual Marchandising and Display


I am currently teaching Visual Merchandising and Display at Mt San Antonio College in Walnut, CA.  We are using Sketch UP Pro to design the displays but I believe it is important for students to learn to SKETCH THEIR IDEAS MANUALLY.  so they are required to carry a 5.5 x 8.5 spiral bound sketchbook with them at all times to sketch their ideas and take notes.  Here is a sample of a sketchbook spread from a trip I took to San Francisco last Christmas.  I was looking at some Macy’s store windows and thinking about how else this idea could be used at another season, other merchandise or another context.  Here is my sketchbook page.   I have also put a SKETCH UP PRO Notes pdf on the Student Resources page here with links to great tutorials.

FASH66SKetchbookSample

Sketchbook for Display Design Ideas

About Justine Limpus Parish

Associate Professor - Art Center College of Design apparel design - Product Design Dept. costume design - Entertainment Design Dept Fashion Instructor: Mt San Antonio College Workshop instructor: Disney Consumer Products
Image | This entry was posted in FASHION DESIGN, SKETCHBOOK/JOURNAL, TEACHING, VIDEOS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Visual Marchandising and Display

  1. Jeanie Joe says:

    Hi Justine,

    I was jus thinking about you yesterday! Hope you are doing well, and Im sure Art Center keeps you quite busy (good busy!)

    Ive been taking some time off to reinvent myself lately, but definitely spending time cleaning out my sewing studio. Way too much fabric, notions, buttons, etc., more than I will ever need! I think I will try selling off my stuff at a flea market or similar venue.

    I saw Yohana recently at Robertos, she is doing well. Said she had been doing some work for you also. Nice to see her.

    Anyway, just a big enthusiastic HELLO, my friend.

    Best, Jeanie

  2. Jen O says:

    Like Jeanie, I’m leaving a little note to say “Hi” too, so maybe we all need to schedule lunch or something before another year flies by!
    –Jen

Leave a Reply

