In Love with Fashion Drawing


I have been drawing since I could hold a pencil

But there are some events that changed my drawing life.  I was lucky to be born into a family of artists.  My mother was a fashion illustrator in NYC and LA.  My father was a furniture designer in NYC.

I went to Art Center College of Design as an Illustration major and was lucky enough to study with Harry Carmean who studied with Lorser Feitelson who in turn studied with the great George Bridgman…who wrote all the life drawing books. Talk about connections.

The other great connection in my life was with the famed fashion illustrator Antonio Lopez.  I was lucky enough to get to know him shortly before he died.  I attended an 11 day workshop that he did at the Altos de Chavon Art School in the Dominican Republic.  Now that I am teaching at Art Center College of Design, I have been involved with resurrecting more videos of Antonio at Art Center in the 1980’s.

You can look at my trip to the Altos De Chavon Antonio Workshop on my Vimeo Channel.  Also link from there to videos at Art Center. https://vimeo.com/46783440

About Justine Limpus Parish

Associate Professor - Art Center College of Design apparel design - Product Design Dept. costume design - Entertainment Design Dept Fashion Instructor: Mt San Antonio College Workshop instructor: Disney Consumer Products
This entry was posted in FASHION & COSTUME ILLUSTRATION and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Love with Fashion Drawing

  1. I didn’t know you got to meet Antonio. Lucky you!! How inspiring!! I saw his memorial exhibit at Otis/Parsons. Very sad day to lose such a great artist so young!!

Leave a Reply

